History, tourist information, and nearby accommodation
HERITAGE HIGHLIGHTS: Royal State Apartments with its collection of fine art
HistoryThe history of Goodwood House begins around 1600 when a modest Jacobean house was built to act as a gentleman's residence. In 1697 Charles Lennox, the 1st Duke of Richmond, purchased the estate and extended the earlier house. Lennox was the illegitimate son of Charles II by his mistress Louise de Keroualle. He intended Goodwood as a simple hunting lodge, but the Jacobean house was extended by his descendants to create an elegant country house.
A tradition persists that the original idea was to create an octagonal house, but as it happened only 3 sides were finished, and there is no firm evidence to suggest that another 5 sides were ever planned.
In 1757 the 3rd Duke brought in Sir William Chambers to add a neo-classical stable block. Then in 1787 he brought in James wyatt to design the Kennels, which now serve as the clubhouse for the Goodwood golf club. The 3rd Duke was also responsible for Goodwood Racecourse, which is home to an annual race meeting dubbed 'Glorious Goodwood', one of the highlights of the horse racing calendar.
The HouseGoodwood is one of the finest stately homes in England, blsed with a superb art collection including works by Van Dyck and Reynolds in addition to the Canaletto and Stubbs works mentioned earlier. In addition to the paintings there are displays of Sevres ceramics, 18th century furniture from France and England, and Gobelin tapestries. A large portion of the art collection once graced the walls of Richmond House in London before that house was destroyed by a fire in 1791. The original Jacobean house, dubbed 'the old house' is still intact at the rear of the main house block.
Festival of SpeedThis annual festival takes place in late June or early July and is based around a hill climb by historic racing vehicles. Antique and vintage vehicles take part, including motorcycles. The Festival was launched in 1993 and draws 100,000 visitors over 3 days, with all admission by pre-booked ticket. The real attraction of the Festival of Speed is that visitors can walk around the racing paddock and see vehicles and drivers close up.
As an added note, be aware of when the Festival of Speed is on, even you do not intend to visit, as the roads surrounding Goodwood can became exceptionally busy and clogged with traffic for miles in all directions (I speak from experience!).
Goodwood House is open to the public for tours 60 days each year and is a member of the Historic Houses association.
About Goodwood House
Address: Chichester, West Sussex, England, PO18 0PX
Attraction Type: Historic House
Location: 3.5 m NE Chichester, off A285, A286, or A27
Website: Goodwood House
Phone: 01243 927 332
Historic Houses Association
OS: SU888 088
Photo Credit: Ian Stannard, licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Licence
We've 'tagged' this attraction information to help you find related historic attractions and learn more about major time periods mentioned.
Find other attractions tagged with:
James Wyatt (Person) -
NEARBY HISTORIC ATTRACTIONS
Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low-exceptional) on historic interest
Boxgrove Priory - 1.5 miles (Abbey)
Tangmere Military Aviation Museum - 2 miles (Museum)
Weald and Downland Open Air Museum - 2.6 miles (Museum)
West Dean Gardens - 2.9 miles (Garden)
Wakehurst Place - 2.9 miles (Garden)
Chichester, St John the Evangelist - 2.9 miles (Historic Church)
Pallant House Gallery - 3 miles (Museum)
The Novium Museum - 3 miles (Museum)
Nearest Accommodation to Goodwood House:
Nearest Self Catering Cottages
Nearest Bed and Breakfasts