Haverfordwest Priory
Haverfordwest Priory
An Augustinian house established in the late 12th century on the banks of the Cleddau river just outside the town walls of Haverfordwest. Parts of the church, cloister, and chapter house can still be seen.
The priory was founded around the year 1200 on land granted to the Augustinians by Lord Robert Fitzancard. It was dissolved by Henry VIII and some of the finds from the site are now on display in the Haverfordwest Museum. One of the more unique features discovered during excavations on the priory site was a medieval garden of raised beds. This is the only surviving medieval monastic garden in all of Britain. The garden has been replanted with plants that were known to have been used in the medieval period.

The site is in the care of Cadw and is open at any reasonable hour.