Elworthy, St Martin of Tours Church
Elworthy, St Martin of Tours Church
St Martin of Tours in Elworthy is a pretty 13th century church set amid wonderful rural scenery in the Brendon Hills, with some fascinating interior furnishings. The earliest written record of a church at Elworthy comes from 1233.

The church has a very fine battlemented tower with a rare external stairway leading to a door at roof level. The church is constructed of red sandstone dressed with Ham Hill stone, under a slate roof.

The embattled west tower is 13th century, but the nave and porch show 15th century features. The chancel is later, having been rebuilt in 1695 and 1846. The barrel-vaulted nave roof is late 15th century, finished with plaster.

The interior features fine woodwork from the medieval to the Jacobean period. The chancel screen is dated 1632 and is inscribed with the words, 'O Lord Prepare Our Arts to Praye'. The screen is beautifully painted, though presumably restored.

Unusually, the 17th century font is made of alabaster, quarried at nearby Watchet. The pulpit is Jacobean, and there are late 17th century communion trails and altar table. In the nave floor is a grave slab to Mary Green, who died in 1718.

In a nearby window you will find a pair of 15th century stained glass figures of saints.

In the churchyard is an ancient yew tree growing out of a mound that seems to have enveloped several nearby graves stones. Also in the churchyard is the grave of 2nd Lieutenant James Elliott of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment, kiled in action in France in 1916.

The church was closed in 1975 and passed to the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. As of this writing it is open daylight hours to visitors.