+   Cottage Search   +

Derbyshire Self Catering cottage, Duke's Park, Middleton, sleeps 8

Duke's Park

Duke's Park, Middleton, Derbyshire

  Booking through:
Sykes Cottages
Telephone Sykes Cottages booking line   01244 352 197

Sleeps a maximum of: 8

Pricing From: £650.00

This stone detached cottage is situated in the village of Middleton near to Wirksworth and sleeps eight people in four bedrooms.

Duke's Park is a superb detached stone cottage situated in the village of Middleton near to Wirksworth, close to the Peak District National Park. This cottage sleeps eight people and has four zip/link beds that can be king-size doubles or 2' 6'' twins. The cottage also has a bathroom, a kitchen with dining area and a sitting room with woodburner.

Outside there's ample off road parking and a patio with furniture and hot tub. Duke's Park is a delightful base for a family with plenty to see and do within reach.

Pet friendly accommodation Pet Friendly


What a little gem of a find.
We wanted a little break and the personal touches were great upon our arrival.. Lovely chocolate's on arrival with milk, orange juice, and a cheeky bottle of vino for us adults. This house has catered for 3 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 younger children perfectly. Would easily suit an adult retreat for walking! Thinking this would be our next booking, As we would definitely come back. The rear enclosed garden housed the Hot Tub and was a great addition to this break. (You can clearly see in the pictures on the website before booking that it within a residential area..)Which didn?t deter us from booking. Even with a snow shower we were in it guess it had to be done!, Plenty of Towels for the Hot Tub and on each bed was great. We also had the dog and this little area had a light that we could switch on when letting the dog out later on so we could see her! The kitchen was well equipped.. plenty of plates and cups, glasses also ample pots and pans. Great entertaining space for all. The lounge was lovely and with the log burner on it was cosy! Even had to turn the heating off so Hubby and the boys could make a fire... Downstairs loo was a bonus as we are an extended family the need for the extra bathroom space it was well used! Bedrooms brilliant sizes all very clean and beds all made up on our arrival! Bathroom, small but meets everyone's needs. Couldn?t complain. Lovely little retreat. We visited Carsington water, lovely walks for all ages and some lovely family activities as it was Feb half term. Matlock farm was visited great for the younger ones as left the 2 16year olds in the house with WiFi and the dog. A lovely day in Bakewell, with a visit to a little village called eyam and the little museum was fascinating. Will recommend this little treasure too all! Ignore the negative reviews. As Hubby walked the dog through the village every morning and the neighbours were all polite and welcoming too...

Relaxing stay, idyllic location
We had a really lovely stay at the cottage. It is decorated beautifully and really feels like home away from home. We particularly loved the wood burner and the social kitchen/diner. There were some lovely welcoming touches such as milk & orange juice in the fridge, a box of choccys & bottle of fizz for when we arrived after a long journey. I found the owner Lee to be very helpful, as we didn?t arrive until much later than expected due to traffic our shopping delivery was at the cottage before us, but after a phone call too Lee he kindly went to the cottage to ensure it was safely delivered for us. The beds were comfy and the place was spotless. We had no trouble with any of the neighbours whilst there, but can understand why the rules for outside noise are in place as it is a residential area. There is ample parking and a secure area for the dog which we were able to take with us. We are already planning a trip back in the summer to make the most of the hot tub & garden and explore the beautiful surroundings of the Peak District some more. Thank you

Very bad experience
Very disapointed. There is honestly nothing cottage like about this property apart from the exterior and a fire place. The photos advertised definitely do not reflect the true look of this "cottage" with the decoration bland Shower pressure was shocking and temperature kept fluctuating between freezing cold and boiling hot. The positioning of the shower head was also oddly in the corner of the shower rather then central wich ment you would need to angle the shower head. It is obviously a self cater holiday but i didnt realise id need to bring my own pots and pans. There are 2 frying pans one very small with another really inefficient and catering for us all was a nightmare. We made this mistake the first morning and went out for breakfast and dinner for the rest of our duration. The hot tub was a big attraction for us wich is one of the reasons we booked this property but what a disapointment. Not only was it cold on arrival it was dirty and smelled musty and limited us to using it. There was also a lack of lighting in the garden area and with it being autumn it gets dark very early wich made things impossible to see and with it being very open with no gates anyone can walk round and invade your privacey. Overall this was our first trip to derbyshire and after finding some really nice restaraunts & pubs, exploring the peak district and visiting bakewell it would be lovely to return but it was a mistake booking this property especially now looking online just out of curiosity at other local places that looked more ideal with plenty of excellent reviews.
Charlie R

Ruined by rudeness
We arrived for a weekend break with friends. The cottage was quaint and had all necessary amenities. It was generally clean however the hot tub was a little dirty. The owner left a very thorough file with local places to visit, some rules for the house and instructions etc. (One rule being no nose outside after 10pm) On the Saturday evening we heard a neighbour let off some fireworks. We had planned to travel to a site the next evening to do the same however, as we heard them locally we decided at 9:15pm to let off a maximum of 3 minutes of fireworks. The neighbours became verbally abusive out of their windows. At which point we went back in to continue our evening. We had a knock on the door from a neighbour claiming that we had caused distress to her. We apologised respectfully and reassured that we would keep all noise to a minimum. We tried to call the owner to apologise for any concern as the woman had claimed she was going to contact the owner. The owner did not answer nor did he call back. The next morning at approx 8:30am, we recieved a voicemail from Sykes Cottages telling us that we had to vacate the premises immediately. Apparently multiple complaints had been made throughout our stay (although we only heard 're the fireworks) and still now we do not know the reason to the so called complaints. We requested a partial refund due to us not breaking any rules but having to leave early at their request. This was declined. As we were leaving we were approached by an elderly neighbour verbally abusing us for the noise. Complaining that she gets nothing but grief from the visitors at this property and the owner and that she was seeking legal advice. We were not warned of the restrictions of noise (barr after 10pm). Had we of known we would have stayed elsewhere as 4 couples. We cannot believe the lack of support from Sykes Cottages. They were unhelpful and rude. They claimed to the landlord that they had told us of the noise issues, however we had not. We will be escalating our complaint of this. We would recommend that this property is not suitable to rent. Unless you do not mind recieving a load of abuse from neighbours. We faced abuse due to previous visitors.
April M

Avoid this place. Terrible owner and a waste of time and money.
Me and a group of 7 other friends had booked to stay in this cottage between 18-21 October 2019. On arrival, the cottage seemed as expected. Fairly clean, and accurate to the photos of the interior. However, on further inspection of the outside, the garden had dog mess which hadn?t been cleaned prior to our arrival, and also the hot tub was dirty (and annoyingly freezing cold). We assume that the garden was left this way by the last guests and that the owners did not prepare for our arrival. The owners left a handbook outlining rules of our stay at the property. Understandably, they request for noise to be kept to a minimum after 10pm - and use of the hot tub is prohibited in the early morning. The cottage is situated in a residential area and there are quite a lot of elderly neighbours which we didn?t really realise until the second day of our stay. On day two, at roughly 9:15pm, we let off some fireworks in the garden. We checked the handbook to check this was not prohibited and decided that as it wasn?t too late, it shouldn?t cause any bother and would be over in under 5 minutes. After the fireworks had ended, neighbours were swearing at their windows and hurling verbal abuse at us. This was very unexpected as we did not feel we had done anything wrong, but nevertheless we immediately went back indoors and tried to phone the owners to explain what had happened (before 9:30pm) They did not answer, or respond to the voicemail left. A neighbour knocked on our door and we apologised profusely for upsetting her. The next morning, Sykes Cottages phoned to tell us we had to leave the property immediately due to complaints. We explained the situation and expressed how we had abided by all of the rules and there had been a bit of a misunderstanding, however we were advised that the owner was not willing to discuss this - nor offer any form of refund for our stay that was cut short through no fault of our own. We left the property before 11:30am as requested. On departing we saw a local neighbour who spoke to us about the previous night. She explained that the cottage is a constant cause of annoyance for many local residents, and that people complain regularly about the owner and the fact the property is used as a holiday home - because this is not suitable for the location. The neighbour explained that she is now taking legal action against the owner after a series of problems. We cleared the air and told her about the rules we were given regarding noise after 10pm. Apparently the owner has told the local residents that guests are under instruction to keep outdoor noise to a minimum after 9pm- which is a lie. It become apparent that we had not really done anything wrong, but the owner has misled his neighbours and we have bore the brunt of a long running feud between him and the locals. Sadly, the customer care from Sykes was very bad. They are helpful when it comes to making a sale and do not care afterwards. I will be sure to review this property on every possible platform. This place should be avoided at all costs.
Alison B



Linen Provided Linen provided
Towels Provided Towels provided
Dishwasher Dishwasher
cookewr Cooker
Refrigerator Fridge
Washing Machine Washing Machine
Televsion Television
WiFi WiFi



Gas central heating with woodburning stove
Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc in rent
Additional logs available payable via an honesty box
Bed linen and towels inc in rent
Travel cot and high chair available on request
Ample off road parking
Secure bike storage in garage
Enclosed patio garden
Two well-behaved pets welcome
Sorry, no smoking
Shop and pub 5 mins walk
Note: Max 8 adults
Note: If you plan on charging your electric car - please contact us 7 days prior to your stay
Note: No hen or stag/similar

Changeover Day
Approximate Location

Map is approximate and should only be used to get a rough idea of the cottage location.

Get an Ordnance Survey map covering the Middleton area.

Nearest Attractions

Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low-exceptional) on historic interest

Cascades Gardens - 1 miles (Garden) Heritage Rating

Bonsall, St James Church - 1.2 miles (Historic Church) Heritage Rating

Masson Mills - 1.3 miles (Historic Building) Heritage Rating

Cromford Mills - 1.4 miles (Historic Building) Heritage Rating

Peak District Lead Mining Museum - 1.6 miles (Museum) Heritage Rating

Peak Cavern - 1.6 miles (Family Attraction) Heritage Rating

Heights of Abraham - 1.8 miles (Family Attraction) Heritage Rating

Winster Market House - 3.5 miles (Historic Building) Heritage Rating

Crich Tramway Village - 4.3 miles (Family Attraction) Heritage Rating

Nine Ladies Stone Circle - 4.9 miles (Prehistoric Site) Heritage Rating

Nearest Alternative Cottages

Details of facilities are believed correct at time of publication, but may be subject to change by the cottage proprietor. Up-to-the-minute facility listings will be always presented during the booking process for your approval.

UK Self Catering
England - Scotland - Wales
Popular Locations
Devon - Cornwall - Lake District - Highlands - North Wales - South West Wales

Attraction search
Britain Express Canvas Prints

Stunning UK prints for sale by award-winning photographer David Ross, editor of Britain Express, the UK Travel and Heritage Guide.

National Trust

National Trust membership

National Trust membership

Free entry to National Trust properties throughout England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, plus discounted admission to National Trust for Scotland properties.

Membership details

About the National Trust

Passionate about British Heritage!