Derby, St Werburgh's Church
Derby, St Werburgh's Church
A fascinating mish-mash of styles co-exist in this historic town centre church. The oldest parts are the tower, built from 1601 in very early Gothic Survival style. The chancel was built in 1690, but the rest of the building is the result of a major rebuilding project by Sir Arthur Blomfield in 1895.
St Werburgh's was declared redundant in 1990 and the newer section of the church turned over to commercial owners. The chancel, however, was vested in the Churches Conservation Trust, who maintain it today.

The chancel has very fine late 17th century woodwork, but the best feature is the wrought iron font cover. There is stained glass by the Kempe studio, and a very fine reredos.

The most famous historical association of St Werburgh's is that Samuel Johnson was married in the church in 1735. The chapel where Johnson married Elizabeth Porter is in a chapel in the tower which has been dbbed the 'Johnson Chapel' for obvious reasons! The marriage is often re-enacted on an annual basis on 9 July, the anniversary of the wedding ceremony.