Coverham Abbey
Coverham Abbey
Coverham Abbey was a Premonstratensian monastic house established by Helewisia de Glanville in 1190. De Glanvillle was the daughter of Ranulf de Glanville, Lord Chief Justice of the realm.
The original site of the abbey was Swainby, but around 1212 the original abbey was re-founded at Coverham by Helewisia's son, Ranulf fitzRalph.

The abbey was badly damaged in a Scottish raid in 1331, but managed to recover and by the end of the 14th century there were 15 monks in residence, under the leadership of an abbot.

Coverham was dissolved by Henry VIII in 1536. It was sold to Humphrey Orme, and the abbot's house and guest lodging were converted into a private dwelling. The north range of monastic buildings was rebuilt around 1800 as Coverham Abbey House, and the garden of the 19th century dwelling contains the south arcade of the abbey church. Beyond the redundant church are the remains of the abbey's mill ponds.

Part of the church transept survives as well as a pair of arches. Visitors can also see the carved stone effigies of a pair of knights thought to be sons of the foundress. The gatehouse to the abbey is partially intact, with the rear arch of the gatehouse passage still standing.

The house is not normally open to the public, but you can see the abbey ruins from the nearby redundant parish church (Churches Conservation Trust).