Fort Paull
Fort Paull
The first fort at Fort Paull was built in 1542 to protect the entrance to the River Humber. The current fort is the fourth to occupy the same site. It was built in 1862 and was in use until 1950. The fort occupies 10 acres on the north shore of the Humber. Contained within the 10 acre site are a multitude of hands-on exhibits that will give visitors an experience of over 450 years of military history here.
On the sie is a fire service museum, a collection of military memorabilia, and historic aircaft including a 1916 tri-plane and the only surviving Blackburn Beverley Transport Aircraft in the world. An underground network of tunnels connect different parts of the site, including the old accommodation blocks and exhibit areas.