Crickhowell, St Edmund's Church
Crickhowell, St Edmund's Church
St Edmunds is a large 13th century church with 19th century side aisles. There are two stained glass windows by Charles Kempe and several memorials to local families.
The church was built in the late 13th century by Lady Sybil Pauncefote of Crickhowell Castle, probably between 1280-1300. Lady Sybil's effigy lies in the sanctuary, across from another effigy representing her husband, Sir Grimbald Pauncefote. The original building was cruciform, but the layout was changed in the 19th century hen a major rebuilding took place. One of the highlights of that rebuilding are the windows at the west end of the aisles, designed by CE Kempe.

The transepts may have acted as guild chapels for the Cordwainers and Drapers guilds. The side aisles, taken down in 1765, used to display wooden carvings of trading companies active in Crickhowell.

The interior boasts some wonderful period monuments, most dating to the 18th and 19th centuries. In the chancel, set within a 14th century recess, is a grave slab to Rachel and Lewis James (d.1750 and d.1775). Also in the chancel is the tomb of Henry Rumsey (d.1619).

This is an extremely pretty church; though it has been subject to a rather overwhelming Victorian restoration, there remains a wealth of historic interest, especially the Pauncefote effigies, which really help tie the history of the church to that of the nearby castle.