Dunster Working Watermill is a restored Grade II listed watermill that dates to the 18th century, though there was a mill on this site as early as the Domesday Book of 1086. The mill was built in the late 17th century but extensively remodelled around 1779-1782 to form the building we see today. Mill Lane, Dunster, Minehead, Somerset, England, TA24 6SW
Dunster Yarn Market is a Jacobean market cross on Dunster High Street, at the opposite end of the street from medieval Dunster Castle. The Yarn Market is a striking octagonal building measuring 9.4 metres in diameter (about 31 feet). The building is supported on a huge central pier with a massive timber frame resting on a low stone wall. High Street, Dunster, Somerset, England, TA24 6SG
Gallox Bridge is a picturesque medieval packhorse bridge, probably dating to the 15th century, which runs across the River Avill on the southern outskirts of Dunster village. The bridge was traditionally used by packhorses bringing fleece to Dunster wool market. It stands beside a much older used by carts and other wheeled traffic too wide for the bridge itself. Park Street, Dunster, Somerset, England, TA24 6SR
A restored mill with roots going back to the Domesday Book (at least!). Water powers a grain mill and provides electricity for 10 nearby homes. Named after a 13th-century owner of a fulling mill, Gants Mill has over the centuries served as a woollen factory, silk weaving centre, and grain mill. Set in lovely gardens featuring riverside walks, water features, and Spring and Summer colours. Gants Mill Lane, Bruton, Somerset, England, BA10 0DB
The Martock Treasurer's House is one of the oldest inhabited houses in Somerset, dating to the early 13th century. The house was built as a parsonage serving All Saint's Church across the road. In 1227 the parsonage was purchased by Hugh, the Treasurer of Wells Cathedral, hence the name 'Treasurer's House'. Martock, Somerset, England, TA12 6JL
The Meare Fish House is a medieval building once owned by the powerful abbots of Glastonbury. It is the only surviving monastic fish building in England. The Fish House stands on a hill above the former monastic fish ponds which helped supply the abbey at Glastonbury with a steady supply of fish, a staple of the monk's diets. B3151, Meare, Somerset, England, BA6 9SP
The Priest's House was built in 1308 by the monks of Muchelney Abbey to provide a residence for the parish priest of Muchelney village. The house stands immediately opposite the parish church, and only a few steps from the abbey grounds. Muchelney, Somerset, England, TA10 0DQ
No. 1 Royal Crescent is a restored Georgian townhouse, part of one of Georgian Bath's most iconic landmarks. Number 1 was the first of the Royal Crescent town-houses to be built as part of John Wood the Younger's ambitious scheme to create a wide, curving row of elegant Palladian houses for high society who flocked to Bath during its heyday as a centre for fashionable life. Perhaps the most famous former resident of No. 1 was the Duke of York, second son of King George III.
1 Royal Crescent, Bath, Somerset, England, BA1 2LR
Robber's Bridge is a picturesque single-arched stone bridge across Weir Water in the Doone Valley of Exmoor. It is traditionally (and incorrectly) linked to RD Blackmore's enduring novel, 'Lorna Doone'. Doone Valley, Oare, Exmoor, Somerset, England
Smithycroft is a beautiful thatched and stone detached cottage dating back to the 17th century. Fully restored with modern amenities, the cottage still has many of its charming original features … Sleeps 6
The George at Nunney has nine guest rooms, including the romantic four-poster Trafalgar Suite. Rated 3*** by the English Tourism Council, this is the ideal bed and breakfast hotel near Longleat Safari Park, Bath and Frome for exploring the West Country.