East Anglia Self Catering cottage, Rookwoods, Sible Hedingham, sleeps 5
Areas: East Anglia
01244 352 197
Sleeps a maximum of: 5
Pricing From: £544.00
This detached cottage is located in the village of Sible Hedingham in Essex and can sleep five people in two bedrooms.
Rookwoods is a detached former coach house in the north Essex village of Sible Hedingham. The cottage sleeps five people and has one double bedroom with an en-suite, a twin room with a pull-out bed and a family bathroom. Also in the cottage is an open plan living area with a kitchen and a sitting area with an open fire.
Outside is off road parking and a large enclosed lawned garden with outdoor furniture. Ideal for discovering rural Essex, Rockwoods is a lovely family holiday cottage.
RECENT CUSTOMER REVIEWS
Shockingly bad service
Our first day of a five day stay was completely ruined as the log fire did not work, there wasn't heating in the main bedroom and the WiFi wasn't working! Worse still, Sandra Robinson, the owner, refused to take phone was eventually calls and would only text which was very inconvenient and inhospitable. To my shock, I found out the next day that she was holidaying in South Africa and had not even bothered to delegate hosting to her housekeeper/someone else in her absence! As a result, we tried calling and texting at 6:30pm on Day 1, but did not get any 'help' until 8:30am the next morning (a very brief and unhelpful text message from an owner too busy holidaying to worry about our plight). By this time, my vulnerable, heavily pregnant wife, who suffers from sinus issues and is used to very warm rooms, had to sleep in a cold room we weren't able to enjoy even the basic amenity of Wifi and watching a movie on Netflix. We would have been 100X better off staying home!!! When we text back to explain she hadn't solved the problems, she took another 4 hours to reply! Claire, the housekeeper, eventually arrived in the afternoon of Day 2. She couldn't solve the kindling issue. It was only after we rang around friends to get ideas and suggested getting firelighter cubes that we were able to finally get the fire going at 3pm. Claire was brilliant. She would answer the phone and respond to messages within minutes. She fixed the Wifi, got us an electric heater for the bedroom, etc. She was the hostess Sandra should have been and salvaged the rest of our stay. Naturally we demanded a refund for our completely wasted and stressful first day and night when the owner was not available and was not able to solve our problems until well into Day 2. To our utter shock, she point blank refused to issue a refund, sufficing with the briefest and most indifferent of apologies ('I'm sorry for your trouble but...'). We were equally disappointed with Sykes who refused to refund from their ample coffers and don't even have the power to enforce a refund in such circumstances (even when their agents sympathetically agreed with us that the owner ought to refund). Pathetic. In 20 years of regular cottage holidays, I've never experienced such negligence or indifference from the owner or company. I just hope this review will warm holiday goers to steer away from Sandra Robinson, and I hope Sykes revise their ridiculous policies on this issue. They're more than happy to profit from our bookings, but stingily avoid responsibility when the holiday goes horribly wrong.
Comfortable and with fantastic garden
The cottage is everything we hoped for - comfortable beds, nice furnishing, a perfectly adequate kitchen and generally a lovely and cosy space. However, the real treat is the garden, which is very large and secure making it ideal for our puppy. The garden faces woods and fields - the sun setting directly facing it. Walking past the beautiful listed house and stables is a pleasure. There's a woodland walk just round the corner - the owner seems perfectly pleasant. We hope to return soon.
Lovely cottage, lovely grounds but ....
Weekend breakaway with our dog ... Arrived late afternoon. The sign to the entrance road was missed, it's very small and faded. On entrance into the cottage first thoughts "oh this is lovely", ok so it's January you expect it to be a little chilly, we were advised that fuel for the log fire was available in the cottage, logs plentiful for a day, but with no kindling to light the logs ?. There was one wall mounted heater that despite its best efforts was not sufficient .. Needless to say back into the car in search of kindling to get fire started. More logs available from owner at extra price. Underfloor heating in bathrooms .. Yes ... We took the duvets from upstairs bedrooms for added warmth overnight as no other form of heating main bedroom. With the beautiful surrounds, it was a shame we could not wander around ... But if you take your dog the back garden Is the only place they can go, or a quick on the leash march through the owners land. It's not really the ideal place to take your dog unless you are prepared to drive out ... It may have been better in the warmer months, but way too cold to stay during winter with inadequate heating .. Needless to say we left a day early as was spending a small fortune on log fire
Can't understand some of the comments on this property on here- we found it to be nice and comfortable-very nice inside and out- very warm inside-beds were great-ok the cooking equipment could have been better-but who cooks every day on holiday-plenty of pubs etc nearby-good parking spaces- yes the TV was'nt 40"- but again who goes on holiday to watch TV?? we had a great time.
Could be nice BUT
Sign on main road impossible to spot, Issues with cottage and poor attitude from owner spoilt the break somewhat. Dangerously hot towel radiator burnt arm of my son, toilet broke on day 1 and both sons stepped on carpet gripper spikes on stair carpet. I have to say, things do happen but it is all about the response from the owner. Some hosts are happy to welcome guests and other merely tolerate them. The owner should really review the equipment in the cottage, no washing machine, minimal kitchen utensils, 4 guests but only 2 garden chairs?? and no garden umbrella for shade, a tiny TV [ok we weren't there to watch freeview but still]. The general refurbishment of the cottage was to a good standard BUT, can definitely do better. The cottage welcomes dogs [apparently] however they are not allowed anywhere on the grounds except immediately in front of the cottage, so we could not walk through the fields. An unfriendly feel to the place.
Electric storage heaters with open fire
Electric oven, 2-ring hob, microwave, fridge,freezer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books and games
Fuel, power and fuel for fire inc in rent
Bed linen and towels inc in rent
Off road parking for 3 cars
Secure bike storage
Large enclosed lawned garden with decked area and furniture
One well-behaved dog welcome
Sorry, no smoking
Shop and pub 10 mins walk
Note: The first floor room has a sloping ceiling
Note: There owner can provide stabling for horses by arrangement
Note: Max 4 adults or over 12's as the pull out bed in the twin room is only considered suitable for a young child
Note: The owner comes into the garden on a Wednesday morning for 2 hours to clean she will knock at the property prior to entry
Note: If you would like the king-size zip-link to be set up as a twin, please contact us to advise
Get an Ordnance Survey map covering the Sible Hedingham area.
Nearest AttractionsHeritage Rated from 1- 5 (low-exceptional) on historic interest
Hedingham Castle - 0.9 miles (Castle)
Halstead, Holy Trinity Church - 3.4 miles (Historic Church)
Clare Priory - 6.1 miles (Abbey)
Clare Castle - 6.3 miles (Castle)
Clare Ancient House Museum - 6.5 miles (Museum)
Clare, St Peter and St Paul - 6.5 miles (Historic Church)
Sudbury, All Saints Church - 6.8 miles (Historic Church)
Sudbury, St Gregory's Church - 7.1 miles (Historic Church)
Gainsborough's House - 7.1 miles (Historic Building)
Marks Hall Arboretum and Garden - 7.1 miles (Garden)
Nearest Alternative Cottages
Castle Hedingham, Essex
Stay from: £234.00 - 1116.00
Sible Hedingham, Essex
Stay from: £1150.00 - 6201.00
Castle Hedingham, Essex
Stay from: £1196.00 - 4616.00
Details of facilities are believed correct at time of publication, but may be subject to change by the cottage proprietor. Up-to-the-minute facility listings will be always presented during the booking process for your approval.
UK Self Catering
England - Scotland - Wales
Devon - Cornwall - Lake District - Highlands - North Wales - South West Wales