+   Cottage Search   +

East Anglia Self Catering cottage, Rookwoods, Sible Hedingham, sleeps 5

Areas: East Anglia

Rookwoods
Sible Hedingham
Essex
England

Rookwoods, Sible Hedingham, Essex
CHECK AVAILABILITY

  Booking through:
Sykes Cottages
Telephone Sykes Cottages booking line   01244 352 197

Sleeps a maximum of: 5

Pricing From: £511.00

This detached cottage is located in the village of Sible Hedingham in Essex and can sleep five people in two bedrooms.

Rookwoods is a detached former coach house in the north Essex village of Sible Hedingham. The cottage sleeps five people and has one double bedroom with an en-suite, a twin room with a pull-out bed and a family bathroom. Also in the cottage is an open plan living area with a kitchen and a sitting area with an open fire.

Outside is off road parking and a large enclosed lawned garden with outdoor furniture. Ideal for discovering rural Essex, Rockwoods is a lovely family holiday cottage.


RECENT CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Comfortable and with fantastic garden
The cottage is everything we hoped for - comfortable beds, nice furnishing, a perfectly adequate kitchen and generally a lovely and cosy space. However, the real treat is the garden, which is very large and secure making it ideal for our puppy. The garden faces woods and fields - the sun setting directly facing it. Walking past the beautiful listed house and stables is a pleasure. There's a woodland walk just round the corner - the owner seems perfectly pleasant. We hope to return soon.
233mabellep
2021-09-05


Lovely cottage, lovely grounds but ....
Weekend breakaway with our dog ... Arrived late afternoon. The sign to the entrance road was missed, it's very small and faded. On entrance into the cottage first thoughts "oh this is lovely", ok so it's January you expect it to be a little chilly, we were advised that fuel for the log fire was available in the cottage, logs plentiful for a day, but with no kindling to light the logs ?. There was one wall mounted heater that despite its best efforts was not sufficient .. Needless to say back into the car in search of kindling to get fire started. More logs available from owner at extra price. Underfloor heating in bathrooms .. Yes ... We took the duvets from upstairs bedrooms for added warmth overnight as no other form of heating main bedroom. With the beautiful surrounds, it was a shame we could not wander around ... But if you take your dog the back garden Is the only place they can go, or a quick on the leash march through the owners land. It's not really the ideal place to take your dog unless you are prepared to drive out ... It may have been better in the warmer months, but way too cold to stay during winter with inadequate heating .. Needless to say we left a day early as was spending a small fortune on log fire
Caroline B
2017-01-22


Very comfortable
Can't understand some of the comments on this property on here- we found it to be nice and comfortable-very nice inside and out- very warm inside-beds were great-ok the cooking equipment could have been better-but who cooks every day on holiday-plenty of pubs etc nearby-good parking spaces- yes the TV was'nt 40"- but again who goes on holiday to watch TV?? we had a great time.
tonyw361
2016-10-21


Could be nice BUT
Sign on main road impossible to spot, Issues with cottage and poor attitude from owner spoilt the break somewhat. Dangerously hot towel radiator burnt arm of my son, toilet broke on day 1 and both sons stepped on carpet gripper spikes on stair carpet. I have to say, things do happen but it is all about the response from the owner. Some hosts are happy to welcome guests and other merely tolerate them. The owner should really review the equipment in the cottage, no washing machine, minimal kitchen utensils, 4 guests but only 2 garden chairs?? and no garden umbrella for shade, a tiny TV [ok we weren't there to watch freeview but still]. The general refurbishment of the cottage was to a good standard BUT, can definitely do better. The cottage welcomes dogs [apparently] however they are not allowed anywhere on the grounds except immediately in front of the cottage, so we could not walk through the fields. An unfriendly feel to the place.
raerudd
2016-07-29


A lovely cottage, lovely area, lovely garden, lovely holiday. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable we have slept in while away from home. The rooms were all very clean and comfortable, and the owners were very helpful.
Mr Hughes
2016-07-02


Amenities:

Highlights

Parking Space Parking Space
Linen Provided Linen provided
Towels Provided Towels provided
Dishwasher Dishwasher
cookewr Cooker
Refrigerator Fridge
Televsion Television
WiFi WiFi

Bedrooms
2

Single Beds
2

Double Beds
1

Twin Beds
2

Bathrooms
2

Details
Electric storage heaters with open fire
Electric oven, 2-ring hob, microwave, fridge,freezer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books and games
Fuel, power and fuel for fire inc in rent
Bed linen and towels inc in rent
Off road parking for 3 cars
Secure bike storage
Large enclosed lawned garden with decked area and furniture
One well-behaved dog welcome
Sorry, no smoking
Shop and pub 10 mins walk
Note: The first floor room has a sloping ceiling
Note: There owner can provide stabling for horses by arrangement
Note: Max 4 adults or over 12's as the pull out bed in the twin room is only considered suitable for a young child
Note: The owner comes into the garden on a Wednesday morning for 2 hours to clean she will knock at the property prior to entry

Changeover Day
Fri
Approximate Location

Map is approximate and should only be used to get a rough idea of the cottage location.

Get an Ordnance Survey map covering the Sible Hedingham area.

Nearest Attractions

Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low-exceptional) on historic interest

Hedingham Castle - 0.9 miles (Castle) Heritage Rating

Halstead, Holy Trinity Church - 3.4 miles (Historic Church) Heritage Rating

Clare Priory - 6.1 miles (Abbey) Heritage Rating

Clare Castle - 6.3 miles (Castle) Heritage Rating

Clare Ancient House Museum - 6.5 miles (Museum) Heritage Rating

Clare, St Peter and St Paul - 6.5 miles (Historic Church) Heritage Rating

Sudbury, All Saints Church - 6.8 miles (Historic Church) Heritage Rating

Sudbury, St Gregory's Church - 7.1 miles (Historic Church) Heritage Rating

Gainsborough's House - 7.1 miles (Historic Building) Heritage Rating

Marks Hall Arboretum and Garden - 7.1 miles (Garden) Heritage Rating

Nearest Alternative Cottages


Details of facilities are believed correct at time of publication, but may be subject to change by the cottage proprietor. Up-to-the-minute facility listings will be always presented during the booking process for your approval.



UK Self Catering
England - Scotland - Wales
Popular Locations
Devon - Cornwall - Lake District - Highlands - North Wales - South West Wales

Attraction search
in
Britain Express Canvas Prints

Stunning UK prints for sale by award-winning photographer David Ross, editor of Britain Express, the UK Travel and Heritage Guide.

National Trust

National Trust membership

National Trust membership

Free entry to National Trust properties throughout England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, plus discounted admission to National Trust for Scotland properties.

Membership details

About the National Trust

Passionate about British Heritage!