Pittencrieff House Museum
History, tourist information, and nearby accommodation
HERITAGE HIGHLIGHTS: Housed in a restored 17th century laird's house
In 1635 Sir Alexander Clerk of Pittencrieff built a simple two-storey house, set on the edge of a glen which runs right through the heart of Dunfermline. In 1902 industrialist Andrew Carnegie, a native of Dunfermline purchased the Pittencrieff Estate and the house and donated them to the city.
The estate was developed into a public park, incorporating several fascinating historic sites. Among these were the remains of an 11th-century castle used by Malcolm Canmore, and a cave where William Wallace was said to have hidden from his enemies.
As for Pittencrieff House, it was extended with a pair of galleries by architect Sir Robert Lorimer and opened to the public as a combination museum and gallery.
The Museum has displays on the history of the park, its geography and geology, and on the house itself. The galleries also showcase local art and artists. A special museum display called 'Magic of the Glen' looks at the natural history of Pittencrieff, with dinosaur fossils, and a look at the wide variety of wildlife found in the park. This is very much a 'hands on' museum area, with plenty of interactive displays to bring the park and its natural heritage home to children.
Trails lead from the museum throughout the surrounding parkland, which holds a petting zoo, playgrounds, a greenhouse, and an 18th-century dovecote, in addition to the castle mound and Wallace's Cave.
We've wandered through the park, and it is extremely pleasant, with tall trees filtering the sunlight, creating a very pleasant atmosphere.
Unfortunately, the house has been closed - temorarily we hope. The official statement the Fife government administration says simply that Pittencrieff House has been closed following the opening of the Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries. The Carnegie Dunfermline Trust and Fife Council 'are working to bring Pittencrieff House back in to use and secure a sustainable future for this historic building.'
We will update this page when we know more.
About Pittencrieff House Museum
Address: Pittencrieff Park, Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland, KY12 8QH
Attraction Type: Museum
Location: South of the A994. Free entry, and open year-round.
Website: Pittencrieff House Museum
Phone: 01383 722 935
Photo Credit: Mcwesty, licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Licence
We've 'tagged' this attraction information to help you find related historic attractions and learn more about major time periods mentioned.
Find other attractions tagged with:
17th century (Time Period) -
NEARBY HISTORIC ATTRACTIONS
Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low-exceptional) on historic interest
Dunfermline Abbey and Palace - 0.3 miles (Abbey)
Abbot House Heritage Centre - 0.3 miles (Museum)
Andrew Carnegie Birthplace - 0.4 miles (Museum)
Dunfermline Museum - 0.6 miles (Museum)
Blackness Castle - 4.9 miles (Castle)
Hopetoun House - 5.2 miles (Historic House)
Dalgety, St Bridget's Kirk - 5.6 miles (Historic Church)
House of the Binns - 6 miles (Historic House)
Nearest Accommodation to Pittencrieff House Museum:
Nearest Self Catering Cottages
Nearest Bed and Breakfasts