Lies in St John’s Wood on the Harrow School Estate and is named after James Hamilton, 1st Duke of Abercorn, a governor of the school. Building had begun there by the 1830s.
Today, the houses present a fascinating mixture from that date to the present day. Nos 13 and 15 have pretty, early 19th-century facades, overlaid with pebble-dash. Charles Robert Leslie RA lived at No. 2, and T.H. Huxley was at No. 26 from 1861 to 1872.
Excerpted from The London Encyclopaedia by kind permission of the Publishers, Pan MacMillan.