Trinity Hall, Cambridge
History, tourist information, and nearby accommodation
Trinity Hall (not be confused with its larger cousin Trinity College) is a delightful and largely overlooked gem among Cambridge colleges It was founded in 1350 by Bishop Bateman of Norwich.
The site was formerly used as a monk's study hall owned by the monastery at Ely. The Hall chapel was erected in 1336, though it was remodelled extensively in 1729 by Sir Nathaniel Lloyd. It is the smallest of any Cambridge college chapel and imparts a sense of intimacy and informal warmth.
The Elizabethan Library was built in the late 16th century, and the nearby Dining Hall is a product of an 18th-century rebuilding, though its origins are medieval. The Front Court, by way of contrast, is an elegant Georgian square. Perhaps the most attractive feature of Trinity Hall is the intimate Fellows Garden. That, with its riverside location, makes Trinity a peaceful contrast to its more heavily visited namesake.
Most photos are available for licensing, please contact Britain Express image library.
About Trinity Hall
Address: Trinity Lane, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, CB2 1TJ
Attraction Type: Historic Building - College
Website: Trinity Hall
OS: TL447 586
Photo Credit: David Ross and Britain Express
NEARBY HISTORIC ATTRACTIONS
Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low to exceptional) on historic interest
Clare College - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
Gonville and Caius College - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
Trinity College - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
Great St Mary's, Cambridge - 0.1 miles (Historic Church)
King's College Chapel - 0.1 miles (Historic Church)
King's College - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
Cambridge Arts Theatre - 0.1 miles (Theatre)
Primavera Gallery - 0.2 miles (Museum)
Nearest Accommodation to Trinity Hall: