St Martin Coney Street, York
History, tourist information, and nearby accommodation
HERITAGE HIGHLIGHTS: Superb 15th-century stained glass window
A church with two names; St Martins is known both as St Martin-le-Grand and St Martin Coney Street. It is one of York's oldest churches, dating to at least the 11th century and possibly much earlier. It stands on Coney Street, which around 1000 AD was lined with the houses of wealthy merchants.
The original church was of timber, but about 1080 it was rebuilt in stone. It was extended several times in the medieval period and completely rebuilt in the mid-15th century, largely through the efforts of Robert Semer, who served as vicar from 1425-1443. Semer is commemorated as a benefactor in the surviving west window.
On 29 April 1942 a bomb struck St Martins and almost completely destroyed the medieval building. Only the tower and south aisle survived the blast. The surviving parts of the structure were rebuilt and re-hallowed in 1968.
The St Martin's Window
The glory of St Martins is a 15th century stained glass window depicting the life of St Martin. It was removed from the church in 1940 for safekeeping, and returned during the post-bomb restoration. The window is directly opposite the main visitor entrance, and is set at eye-level. An iron railing keeps visitors at arm's length to protect the precious glass, but it is a rare treat to be able to see such a wonderful collection of 15th century panels art such close range. The effect is absolutely stunning.
The figure of Robert Semer is shown in his clerical robes, an open Bible before him showing Psalm 51. A Latin inscription at the top of the window, giving the date 1437, and begging the rader to pray for Semer's soul. When he died, Semer left his money to the church, on condition that it was rebuilt within seven years.
At the west end is the medieval font where St Margaret Clitheroe was baptised in 1553. In 1571 she married John Clitheroe, a butcher with premises in The Shambles. Clitheroe (nee Middleton) converted to Catholicism, and was put to death for hiding a priest in 1586.
A Confusion of Names
Interestingly, the name 'St Martin-le-Grand' was not recorded until the 1830s, and it has never been the official name of the church. It was invented to distinguish the church from St Martin cum Gregory, Micklegate. The congregation probably thought the name sounded more dignified than 'Coney', another term for a rabbit.
The name was probably inspired by the London ward called St Martin's Le Grand, which again, must have seemed more posh to the congregation. Despite the dubious nature of the moniker, it is still frequently used, which seems to mystify and no doubt annoy the congregation today!
Overhanging the street facade is a picturesque clock, decorated with a naval figure often called 'the Little Admiral'. The clock dates to 1779 and replaces an even earlier clock of 1668. St Martin's is usually open daylight hours and is well worth a visit, if for no other reason than to see the extraordinary St Martin's window.
About St Martin Coney Street
Address: Coney Street, York, Yorkshire, England, YO1 9QL
Attraction Type: Historic Church
Location: At the junction of New Street and Coney Street - look for the clock overhanging the street. Usually open daylight hours.
Website: St Martin Coney Street
Photo Credit: David Ross and Britain Express
NEARBY HISTORIC ATTRACTIONS
Heritage Rated from 1- 5 (low to exceptional) on historic interest
Mansion House - 0 miles (Historic Building)
York, All Saints North Street Church - 0.1 miles (Historic Church)
York Guildhall - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
York, All Saints Pavement Church - 0.1 miles (Historic Church)
Margaret Clitherow's House - 0.1 miles (Historic Building)
York, St Helen Stonegate - 0.1 miles (Historic Church)
Barley Hall - 0.2 miles (Museum)
York Minster - 0.2 miles (Cathedral)
Nearest Accommodation to St Martin Coney Street: